Why Does Everyone Hate Bisexuals?

Sunny Muldoon
4 min readJun 17, 2020

Ahhh, Pride month.

Half-dressed people with glittery rainbow hearts pasted over their nipples.

People taping their feet to impossibly high stilettos so they don’t break their ankles as they race each other down cobblestoned streets.

Thousands of gay and lesbians couples walk hand in hand while ceremony waving their rainbow flags.

Amidst all of the love and pride surrounding these vivacious and empowering events year after year, one thing has continued to ruffle my sparkly pink feathers. How come bisexuals continue to be seen as the “less than” community in a culture that is supposed to be wildly accepting and non-judgemental? (Cue Carrie Bradshaw) I couldn’t help but wonder…where’s all the love for us bisexuals?

It wasn’t until a couple of years ago where I officially “came out” as bisexual. I grew up in a religion where same-sex attraction was considered an abhorrent sin, so even though I was sexually attracted to girls and boys from a really young age, it wasn’t until after I left the church where I felt comfortable enough to vocalize being a bisexual woman. I told a few friends here and there and the people I was in relationships with, but I never thought it really necessary to come out on a social media platform to inform the world that I liked women as well as men. I knew I had…

--

--

Sunny Muldoon

Neurodivergent copywriter and voice actor. I promise to never clickbait you. https://linktr.ee/jennifermuldoon